Uninvited Guests

Last week, right before leaving town, I set up the garden to survive the heat. I cleaned up the weeds that had grown, and checked out the overall health of all the plants. That was when I found the uninvited guests.

I found imported cabbageworms and their offspring on the Brassicas in the garden. The broccoli, kale, and brussell sprouts all had some sign of the pests. I also found aphid swarms. Aphids are good news, they mean that your garden is healthy!

Here is are two photos of the cabbageworm, and below a video of the aphids.

They are interesting to watch, but they are still pests. I picked out the cabbageworms, and sprayed the aphids with insecticidal soap. They are hopefully gone now!

What pests have you had?

Leave a Reply

